Current Recipient

International Honorary Chairpersons
Marilyn Horne
Luciano Pavarotti (d)
Leontyne Price
Shirley Verrett (d)

Honorary Chairperson, Founder Student Advisor
Tessa L. Martin (d)

William Warfield Scholarship Fund
Board of Directors 2017-2018

MacClurg Vivian

Vice President
Thomas Green

Larry Pough

Assistant Treasurer
Todd Gustafson

Rita P. Mitchell

Board of Directors
Kearstin Piper Brown
Katherine Ciesinski
Lolita Forsett
Paulette Gissendanner
Mary H. Harris
William Martin
Dorthea King-Simpson
Eric Townell
Ernesta Walker

Jonathan Rhodes

JONATHAN RHODES Is a second-year Vocalist attending the Eastman School of Music, studying under Professor Anthony Dean Griffey. Originally from Orlando, Florida, Jonathan made his performance debut in the premier work of “Memory Boy” through the Minnesota Opera’s youth program as one of the principal roles (Kurz). Among his ensemble work, Jonathan has performed with the Eastman Chorale, Bach Festival Society, as well as taken a temporary choir member position in Hanz Zimmer’s live tour (2017).

Jonathan is the recipient of The Eastman School’s Freshman Vocal Jury award and is also the recipient of the William Warfield Scholarship award. This year, Jonathan performed the role of Liberto in The Eastman Opera Theatre’s production of Monteverdi’s L’Incoronazione di Poppea. He makes his Rochester professional debut as Frederick Douglass in John Brown with the Rochester Oratorio Society in February 2018. Outside of music, Jonathan is pursuing a second degree in Political Science through the University of Rochester.

Share This